Cambodian Royal Government has decided to ban passengers from 10 African Countries

(Phnom Penh): The Royal Government of Cambodia, through the Ministry of Health, has issued a decision banning travelers from 10 countries in Africa or having a history of traveling to all 10 countries within three weeks.

The Ministry of Health’s decision said that, by having high approval from Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo HUN SEN, Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Ministry of Health is honored to inform all the public that the World Health Organization (WHO) has reported the discovery of a new strain of virus B.1.1.529 in several African countries, and has named it Omicron, which has been declared concern over the spread of a new variant Covid-19 virus.

The Ministry of Health reaffirmed that “seeing this situation, the Ministry of Health of Cambodia has decided to ban passengers, or those who have traveled through 10 countries in Africa or have a history of traveling to those 10 countries during three weeks prior to entering Cambodia from entering Cambodia by air and land until there is a new notification announced to prevent the transmission of a new variant of Covid-19 (Omicron) into Cambodia which needs to be implemented after 48 hours after the release of this press release”. The 10 countries are (1) Botswana (2) Eswatini (3) Lesotho (4) Mozambique (5) Namibia (6) South Africa (7) Zimbabwe        (8) Malawi (9) Angola, and (10) Zambia.